The Bakersfield Effect

Shortly after PG&E had its “come to Jesus” experience with angry ratepayers in Bakersfield California I wrote about the “Bakersfield Effect” in this blog.  It was a term of art I made up to symbolize the unintended consequences of the convergence of smart grid installation, poor customer communications and other factors driving up utility bills.

Since then I have written repeatedly about this phenomenon as a key lesson for utilities in the roll out of smart grid. You can find most of those posts by the tag “Bakersfield Effect” I added to most.

A few months ago I got a call from Pike Research asking me about that tag and I told them the story of how I started using it.  Now Pike is out with a freebie report called “Smart Grid: Ten Trends to Watch in 2011 and Beyond” which lists the Bakersfield Effect as one of those trends.  While they did not give me any credit for it in the report I’m glad I was able to help them out.

Leave a Reply

